Flash Serial: The New Canvas ~ Part 1

He was an artist sick of the world and what it demanded of him.

She was spoiled, rich, and expected to get everything she asked for and more.

What will happen when he tells her “No” then tells her she will do as he desires?

Welcome to my next serial.  As with the Voyeur series, I intend to post weekly.  I invite you to enjoy the story as it unfolds, and please feel free to let me know what you think, either through email at Scarlett dot Greyson @ gmail dot com or in the comments field.

The New Canvas:Chapter 1

“I want an appointment with you.”

He didn’t look up from his book to answer. “I’m retired.”

A hand perched on a bare hip in his peripheral vision. “That’s not what I’ve heard.”

He sighed, clasped the book around his finger, peered over his shades. “I choose who I ink.”

A shapely eyebrow arched. “You tell people they’re going to pay you to tattoo them?”

His lips quirked. He dragged his eyes down. He could already envision the dragon twining around the leg left bare by her sarong, his head pillowed on her smooth belly, tongue diving towards her cleft. He lifted his gaze, enjoying the well-formed breasts and the blush darkening her cheeks.

“Yes, I do.” He uncurled from the deck chair. Her lips parted as he invaded her personal space. “And I choose what will adorn their bodies.” Her eyes clung to his through the tint of her sunglasses. “And no machines. I tatau. Only your skin, my ink, my hands.”

Her gasp was audible.

He’d found the next canvas.

“Nothing but slap of the rod against my hand, needles piercing your skin over and over as I make my mark on your body. It burns, throbs, your skin will feel like it’s on fire.”

She whimpered, swayed. He smiled. Replacing the bookmark with his finger he slid the card from his book.

“Be here. 8pm.” He tucked it into her sarong, knuckles grazing the soft skin of her stomach and walked away.

His blood sang. It was time to get back to work.

~*~

While the sun painted the sky in a glorious sunset, he prepared.  With reverent attention he laid out his sausau, the wooden handle of the tapping mallet smoothed and gleaming from countless hours spent in his grip.  Next his inks, liming pen, scrap paper and the various necessary sundries of his craft.

Two years passed during his retirement.  He hadn’t thought he would chafe at the lack of work, but the need to hear the sausau, to feel the impact on his hand as he guided it, flared now and again.  But there’d been no canvas, so he’d stuffed the yearning deep.

Now,  however, there was a canvas.  And a lovely one at that.  He saw her in his mind’s eye and turned to a paper covered frame.  It was time to let the dragon show his face.

~*~

Come back next week for the continuation of The New Canvas.

7 Comments

  1. Oooh, wonderful opening! An intriguing set-up between the characters already, and sexy tattooing isn’t written about often enough, I reckon. Can’t wait for more!

  2. Love it, Scarlett! I remember the beginning from one of AT’s contests. I don’t think I ever knew you wrote it.

    I also find it quite intriguing and definitely look forward to the next installment!

  3. This is really nice 🙂 I want to read more 😉

  4. OOOOOooooooooooo!!!

    This is great – and I’m lusting after a tattoo right now – I will be impatiently waiting.

  5. So far, I love it!

  6. […] 10, 2010 The first post of my latest serial went up on Saturday, and I have to say, this one was a long time in coming.  The initial […]

  7. Mmmmmm…. tattooing, lovely! I have two and there are more coming, it’s a sexy setting for a sexy story. Can’t wait to read more Scarlett…..


Comments RSS

Leave a Reply

