Meeting in the Flesh

IMG_4679It’s really neat when you have the opportunity to meet someone in the flesh that you’ve been conversing with through the phenomenal media that is the internet.  Mr. Greyson and I had that chance yesterday.  We made the three hour trip out to Cleveland to meet Neve Black.  We got a bit of a late start so the evening was something of a whirlwind(ah, the perils of a poorly planned roadtrip) but we spent a lovely evening in the delightful Neve’s company and will most definitely be making another trip back.

We arrived around seven, about an hour later than expected.   Neve did a whirlwind introduction to her lovely felines then we scuried back out the door, all of us hungry!  After dinner at one of our favorite restaurants(Max and Erma’s, an Ohio chain that doesn’t reach up here to Buffalo) we returned to Neve’s home to change for the Halloween party at the Literary Cafe then were off!

It was a small crowd at the bar, which I was quite thankful for!  I don’t know that I would have had the nerve to get up and read had it been any more crowded.  But, small as it was, it was rather rowdy, so though Neve kicked off the night with a reading of a new piece I wrote for Halloween titled ‘Double Negative’, it wasn’t video taped.  So, I think I’ll sit down sometime this week and record it myself and podcast it.  So stay tuned!

IMG_4685

Neve read one of my pieces first, then two of BAK‘s hot works.  After that and a break I was outvoted by Neve and Mr. Greyson and worked up the courage(with their support) to take the plunge.

Honestly, I was surprised at how well it went.  I anticipated stumbling my way through, but all in all I only did that a few times and I think I managed to make the audience feel the stories…at least a little.  The other two pieces that I read were The Battle and Whispers.

So, stay tuned for ‘Double Negative’ and I imagine Neve and I will be meeting more often to see what trouble we can get into!

5 Comments

  1. It was fabulous meeting both you and Mr. Greyson last night. Thank you so much for making the trip. I’m hoping you’ll be back again.

    And yes, do the podcast. Great idea!

    • Oh we will, I’m fairly confident of that! Thank you so much for having us out, it was awesome 😀 You’re a gorgeous soul, Neve!

  2. Wow, I’m super jealous of you right now! Sounds like a really good time.

  3. Cool cool cool, Scarlett! Congratulations on reading! I’m so glad you felt it went well and that you had a lovely time.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

