It’s what I do.

doodling

Focusing my thoughts is not always an easy thing.  And someone who’s trying to teach me something finds me absurdly frustrating.  I’m extremely right brained, so my creative side likes to take over.  So, when days come along when I’m supposed to be learning something in my left brain, I have to sit my right brain in the corner with crayons and instruct it to hush and let me work. 

I do this by doodling.  The above image was done during training yesterday.  My notes from the day prior are filled, head, foot and margin with similar pen wanderings.  Yesterday I thought ahead and brought a clean sheet of paper to capture the incidental pen movements.

That’s all I have to share today.  Around my training I had very little time to write, though I’ve two different pieces in progress as of this morning and another knocking at the door.  We’ll see how I do over the weekend.

In the meantime, I’ll share my doodlings.

Do you doodle?  Do you have to distract your creative muse in order to accomplish ordinary tasks?  How do you do it?

6 Comments

  1. Heh. Historically I have felt strongly oriented toward/by the left side of my brain. I actually wrote a blog post about this a while back (here), and it struck me as I read what you said that the experience has been almost the opposite for me as far as what has been said about the right and left sides of the brain.

    I really liked “have to sit my right brain in the corner with crayons and instruct it to hush and let me work.” Cute!! 🙂

  2. I love your doodle!

    Wish I was more coherent right now – am lacking enough sleep. Back later.

  3. Damn, that’s cool! That’s way more than a doodle. That rocks. My doodles are usually when I’m on the phone at work pretending to listen to some salesperson drone on. And the doodles usually end up invloving a lot of phallic shapes in addition to swoopy shapes kinda like yours.
    Thanks for sharing this!

  4. Thanks, Em, Robin and Haven! Emerald, I’ll have to read your post when I get a chance. I find it fascinating when people realize that there are reasons they act and react the way they do.

    Glad you like, Robin 🙂 Want me to send it to you? 😉

    I generally work in abstracts when I doodle, Haven. Anytime I try to do those on purpose you can absolutely tell it’s forced. I have to distract my conscious mind and let my muse take the pen.

  5. yup! 🙂

  6. Lovely doodles! My doodles are usually lame spirals. LOL


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

