Constant but changing

IMG_1812

I grew up in the Great Lakes area.  Born mere miles from the shores of Lake Ontario, no matter how far away I traveled, the Lakes are in my bones.  They’re like living near the ocean, though the impact is more subtle.  You get to sense them, feel them.  I live near Lake Erie now, and it’s the same.  I can smell the Lake, the nearness of that huge body of water.  I can point towards the Lake no matter where I am.  The vastness of the water gives the sky a special aura.

It’s a constant, for me, and one that’s all too appropriate.  The way the sky stretches so far into the distance, the incessant motion of the water, the everchanging nature.  Quicksilver.

I write in the sand words I know will either be blown or washed away.

Because we are all temporary.

9 Comments

  1. Because I spent a good portion of my life on the Pacific coast – sometimes within spitting distance (almost) – the ocean was a constant – I always knew where it was in relation to where I was. I miss that. Here on the east coast – the ocean is so far – and blocked by Long Island from me – that it is not part of my life here.

    I once visited a friend in Michigan and she took me to her lake – it was a strange sensation to walk into waves that were fresh water – so different from salt water waves.

    This is a lovely meditation this morning. Thanks.

  2. You’re quite welcome, Robin. I rarely pull off to take pictures, but this morning I simply had to.

    I’ve only walked into salt water once…it was definitely different, heavier, almost(yes, I know, scientifically it is!).

  3. Well, you’ll be there this Sept!

  4. Lovely rumination, Scarlett. Thanks.

  5. Hi Emerald…you’re so sweet to read my rambling 😉 I promise some real topics coming soon!

  6. Hey, at least you’re rambling, lol! (Not that would categorize it that way. ;)) I’ve been wanting to put something up on my blog all week, and somehow it hasn’t materialized yet. (I guess it requires me to actually write something for it.)

    I really did like this though. 🙂 It strikes me as quite “real.”

    • Thanks, Em 🙂 I figure if the urge grabs me, I’ll just post. Sometimes it’s bound to be erotica based! 😉

  7. Scarlett, I love the images you conjure here. I, too, grew up around water, though we only visited often in summers. I did live in CA for 5 years when a young wife/mother. We were only minutes from the Pacific and went nearly every day. I have written some of my favorite poetry by the ocean.

    Now, I’m here in OH far, far away from the Pacific. I miss it so much it brings tears. I did find a large pond, run by our metro-parks, that we frequent all year long. Not the ocean, but beggars and all that!

    • Thanks for stopping in, Tarin 🙂

      No…there really aren’t any lakes big enough in Ohio(at least, not if you’re far away from Lake Erie). I lived 2 hrs due south of Columbus for 8 years…no big bodies of water!

      There’s just something about an endless expanse of water, about not being able to see the other shore, that pulls me.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

